The United States Constitution is the supreme law of the United States of America

The United States Constitution is the supreme law of the United States of America. It was written in mid 1787 during the Philadelphia convention and completed on September 17, 1787. Therefore it’s been around for 231 years. However, The United States Constitution was created to put a limit to the federal government powers because previous government structures under articles of confidential was not working. Moreover, The Preamble explains the fundamental purposes of the United States Constitution. The Preamble reads “We the people of the United States, in order to form a more perfect union, establish justice, insure domestic tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general welfare, and secure the blessings of liberty to ourselves and our posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America”.
The opening of the US Constitution initially comprises seven articles. The first three articles personify the three branches of government: the legislative (article 1), the executive (article 2), and the judicial (article 3). Each branch is to make sure no individual or group will have too much power. Also, each one has a different duty and must all work together. The legislative branch is headed by the congress which includes the House of Representatives and Senate; their duty is to make the laws. The executive branch is headed by the president, vice president, cabinet and federal agencies; their duty is to make the laws official. The judicial branch is headed by the supreme and other courts; their duty is to evaluate the laws. Furthermore, article four, five and six represent the concepts of federalism classifying the rights and responsibilities of the states government as well as the states that interact with the federal government. Lastly, article 7 declares that the constitution will become law of the United States when it is ratified by nine states.
The second part of the United States constitution includes 27 amendments. The first ten amendments alias the bill of rights. Amendment one guarantees freedom of speech and religion, protecting the right to petition the government. Amendment two guarantees protection of individual’s right to own and bear arms for defense. Amendment three soldiers cannot be quartered in a home during war without the owner’s consent. Amendment four a person’s property or belongings cannot be searched or seized without a warrant. Amendment five protects citizens from being testified in court. Amendment six guarantees a fair and speedy jury trial and provide protection and rights to an accused of a crime. Amendment seven guarantees the right to a jury trial depending on the civil case. Amendment Eight forbids individuals from having excessive bails or fines. Amendment Nine reserves individuals the rights to those not specifically mentioned in the constitution. Amendment Ten are when powers that are not delegated to the federal government belong to the states. In addition, majority of the amendments eleven through twenty seven are based on citizen’s civil right protection. Others deal with issues associated with the federal authority or modify government processes and procedures.
Briefly, the United States Constitution is one of the most significant documents about how the government would run itself. It describes the organization of the separation of powers “Three Branches” and how they would cooperate with the states. Also, includes how the document could be amended.